Browse Items (493 items total)
An abandoned monastery on the banks of the Xeros river. The central nave of the monastery, dating to the 16th century is in good condition and is considered one of the most important buildings of the Venetian period. In 1997 it received the “Europa Nostra” award for restoration and conservation.
The wine producing village of Omodos, built on the Troodos hillsides amidst expanses of vines, with its narrow cobbled streets and the majestic monastery in the village square, is one of the most picturesque villages in Cyprus. Omodos was once the property of Sir John de Brie, Prince of Galilee, as was the Monastery of Stavros (Holy Cross), in the centre of the village. The monastery contains old icons, excellent wood carvings and other ecclesiastical objects of interest, as well as a small museum of the national Liberation Struggle of 1955-59. An old wine-press known as Linos is a short distance from the Monastery and is open to visitors.