The wine producing village of Omodos, built on the Troodos hillsides amidst expanses of vines, with its narrow cobbled streets and the majestic monastery in the village square, is one of the most picturesque villages in Cyprus. Omodos was once the property of Sir John de Brie, Prince of Galilee, as was the Monastery of Stavros (Holy Cross), in the centre of the village. The monastery contains old icons, excellent wood carvings and other ecclesiastical objects of interest, as well as a small museum of the national Liberation Struggle of 1955-59. An old wine-press known as Linos is a short distance from the Monastery and is open to visitors.

Collection


The Church of Panagia tou Araka. The 12th century church of Panagia tou Araka is a listed UNESCO World Heritage Site. It contains some of the finest frescoes of the late Comnenian style (1192) comparable to those prevailing throughout Greece, the Balkans and Russia. The church along with the churches of Asinou and of Agios Nikolaos tis Stegis, are considered to be the most important Byzantine period churches on the island. Visitors may ask the priest to open the church.

Collection


In an attempt to honor their protector Saint, everyone involved in marine professions in Paralimni, decided to build a chapel dedicated to him. The place was found next to the sea overlooking the harbor where they tie their boats. Small in size, whitewashed with blue painted dome, the chapel of Agios Nicolaos, reminds one of the chapels found on Aegean islands.

Collection


The chapel of Agios Panteleimonas was built on top of two previous chapels that were destroyed. The present chapel is stone built and has a wooden roof. Inside there are some particularly beautiful, contemporary frescoes. Οne depicts Mother Mary surrounded by other female Saints.

Collection


The humble chapel of Agia Triada (Holy Trinity) is found in a picturesque bay three kilometers away from Paralimni and it overlooks the homonymous fishing boat shelter. The fishermen who keep their boats in the shelter as well as the pilgrims who come to pray keep the candle lit in front of the holy icons.

Collection


The Byzantine type, stone-built church of Prophet Elias is set on a 100m high granite hill and is found in a short distance from the heart of Protaras. It cannot be missed and it is especially awe-inspiring in the evening when is floodlit. The ascending of the 153 steep steps to the chapel rewards the visitor with stunning views. At its foothill all around there is the multicolored, cosmopolitan Protaras. In the east, as far as the eyes can see, unfolds the immense deep blue sea. Looking north there is Famagusta, Pentadaktylos and on a clear sky the visitor even sees the Karpasia Peninsula; all in the occupied part of Cyprus.

Collection


Taking the loose surface road to the area of Agioi Saranta or one of the nature trails the visitor comes across the picturesque chapel of Agioi Saranta. Its existence is betrayed by the stone-built canopy on the wild rocks. The chapel is set in an intact cave. The forty stalactites of the cave are what encouraged a devout christian to turn it into a place of pilgrimage. The visitor apart from the pilgrimage will enjoy the wonderful scenery that surrounds the chapel.

Collection


The gothic church of St. George is located next to the metropolitan church in the main square of Paralimni. According to a marble inscription, it was erected in 1859 in the place of an older byzantine church, parts of which have been incorporated in this one. Part of its north wall is covered with a large fresco depicting St. George killing the dragon.

Collection